

ISU Faculty Senate Official Minutes

Monday, December 11, 2023 4:00-6:00 p.m.

**Location:** Shirley Sargent Family Boardroom, Student Union Building, Pocatello Campus

Or join via Zoom:

https://isu.zoom.us/j/87633791904?pwd=NWVpckMyZ2c1cm9z0GRERmxYeWkxUT09

Meeting ID: 876 3379 1904

Passcode: 558391

**In Attendance:** Colden Baxter, Fredi Giesler, Ken Aho, Mikle Ellis, Elaine Foster, Bob Houghton, Spencer Jardine, Michael Kobus, Dave Smith, Paul Yeates

**Appearing by ZOOM:** Michelle Anderson, Suzanne Beasterfield, Samantha Blatt, Caryn Evilia, Dave Hanneman, Amanda Henscheid, John Holmes, Daniel LaBrier, Diane Ogiela, Neelam Sharma, Kristin Van De Griend, Amanda Zink

**Absent:** Dave Bagley, Elizabeth Fore, Duane Rawlings

**Ex-Officio/Guests:** Karen Appleby, Adam Bradford, Dan Dale, Jenn Forshee, Josh Grinath, Andy Holland, Libby Howe, President Satterlee

**ZOOM Ex-Officio/Guests:** Alycia Cummings, Veronica Garcia, Jena Lords, Liz Redd

**Recording Secretary:** Lisa Hunt

- 1) Chair Call Meeting to Order/Remarks Colden Baxter 1:28
- 2) Reading of Tribal Land Acknowledgement Dave Smith 5:00
- 3) Open Forum 5:30
- 4) Announcements (Click link(s) below for document(s)) 5:55
  - a) The following positions need to be filled:
    - i) Standing Appeals Panel
      - (1) College of Business need 1
      - (2) College of Health need 1
  - b) The nomination period for <u>Distinguished Faculty Awards</u> is now open. Nominations are needed for Distinguished Researcher, Teacher, and for Distinguished Service.
  - c) Dr. Dave Delehanty will complete his three years as an Ombuds Fall 2024 and we will be seeking his replacement. For information regarding the position and the Ombuds Program more broadly, see the faculty Ombuds web page and the more detailed charter for the program and positions.
  - d) Faculty Senate needs volunteer representatives for a work group to focus on needed revisions of the Faculty Senate Bylaws that will begin meeting next semester.
    - i) Volunteered: Samantha Blatt, Bob Houghton, Michael Kobus



- e) President Satterlee's Farewell Reception is Thursday, December 14 from 4:00-6:00p at the Bengal Alumni Center. Remarks will be at 5:00p.
- 5) Approve Today's Meeting Agenda December 11, 2023 10:05

<u>ACTION</u> – Bob Houghton motioned to accept today's agenda Fredi Giesler seconded Motion carried unanimously

6) Faculty Senate Minutes Approval - November 27, 2023 - 10:35

<u>ACTION</u> – Bob Houghton motioned to accept the minutes Elaine Foster seconded Motion carried unanimously

### 7) Consent Agenda – Approve council or committee actions/decisions (Click link(s) below for document(s)) – 11:15

- a) AIC Official Minutes November 7, 2023
- b) ASC Official Minutes November 17, 2023
- c) FPPC Official Minutes November 8, 2023

<u>ACTION</u> – Mikle Ellis motioned to remove FPPC Nov. 8, 2023 Official Minutes from the Consent Agenda for discussion regarding procedure and approval for policy work

No second

Motion died

<u>ACTION</u> – Bob Houghton motioned to accept the Consent Agenda items Fredi Giesler seconded Motion carried unanimously

#### 8) President Satterlee Update and Remarks - 18:20

a) Farewell remarks

<u>ACTION</u> – Bob Houghton motioned for the FS to thank President Satterlee for his service to ISU Ken Aho seconded Motion carried unanimously

#### 9) Interim Provost/Office of Academic Affairs Report - Adam Bradford/Karen Appleby - 25:50

- a) Report on sabbatical trends and awards
- b) Sabbatical process:
  - i) Each college has an internal committee and process that vets each sabbatical application
  - ii) Committee makes a recommendation to the Dean
  - iii) The Dean and the UBO determine the available financial support
  - iv) Dean's decision is forwarded to Academic Affairs
  - v) Academic Affairs checks requirements for sabbatical etc. and provides final approval
- c) Discussion and Q & A



#### 10) Policy Updates - Libby Howe - 51:45

- a) Recently approved policies
  - i) ISUPP 1130 Conflicts of Interest and Commitment Policy
  - ii) 11 policies in the Finance Portfolio (mostly non-substantive changes)
  - iii) New policy ISUPP 3000 Professional Workplace Free from Abusive Conduct
  - iv) Update to policy ISUPP 3070 Leave of Absence for Faculty and Staff
  - v) ISUPP 1140 Anatomical Donation Program and Use of Anatomical Material

#### 11) Non-Tenure Track Work Group Report - Neelam Sharma - 56:40

- a) Reviewed proposal made to the FS previously: offering contract to non-tenured track faculty after two years of employment
- b) Request that work groups present what they have been working on to the new President

#### 12) DGE Report - Fredi Giesler - 1:00:55

a) Working on Climate Survey recommendation but won't be implemented until next fall

#### 13) Continuing Business – 1:02:40

- a) Open discussion and potential vote on revision of ISUPP 4090 Faculty Workload Policy
  - i) See additional feedback on the Workload Policy that has been submitted during the 30-day comment period:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1i5Wi-MasK1atbgAFL8DOowx47tA9RLCc/edit

**ACTION** – Bob Houghton motioned to endorse this policy as is currently stated Elaine Foster seconded

ii) Discussion

Motion carried with 11 yes, 8 no, 1 abstention

**ACTION** - Mikle Ellis called for a Roll Call Vote for the previous action

Yes – Michelle Anderson, Suzanne Beasterfield, Elaine Foster, Dave Hanneman, Amanda Henscheid, Bob Houghton, Spencer Jardine, Michael Kobus, Neelam Sharma, Dave Smith, Kristin Van De Griend

No -Ken Aho, Samantha Blatt, Mikle Ellis, Caryn Evilia, Fredi Giesler, Daniel LaBrier, Diane Ogiela, Amanda Zink

Abstain - Paul Yeates

b) Potential motion to recommend evaluation procedures for administrators

<u>ACTION</u> – Mikle Ellis motioned to remove this item from the agenda Michael Kobus seconded Motion carried unanimously



#### 14) New Business - 1:59:45

- a) Open discussion and sharing of faculty impressions of university president candidates
  - i) Potential motion to move to Executive Session for discussion

ACTION - Mikle Ellis motioned to enter Executive Session and extended the invitation to ex officio Chair Dan Dale to remain with the FS for the Executive Session Bob Houghton seconded Motion carried with 12 yes, 1 no, 1 abstention

ii) Discussion

FS exited Executive Session

<u>ACTION</u> – Bob Houghton motioned to endorse Shane Hunt as the next University President Fredi Giesler seconded

- iii) Discussion (which included acknowledgment, with input from Senate ex officio Chair and Parliamentarian Dan Dale), that
  - a) the declining number of senators in attendance were approaching the number needed for a quorum, b) the comments at the outset of the meeting had indicated that the end of the meeting was going to include open dialogue (no indication that there was going to be an endorsement vote), and, most importantly, c) this motion had not been on the agenda (which meant it would require a  $\frac{1}{3}$  vote to even entertain). This led to the realization that this motion could not be formally entertained without first voting on a motion to do so.

**ACTION** – Fredi Giesler withdrew the second, and there was no new second Motion died

<u>ACTION</u> – Mikle Ellis motioned to formally entertain the aforementioned motion as part of the agenda (would require a 2/3 vote to approve)
Bob Houghton seconded

iv) Discussion

Motion failed with 11 no, 2 yes, 0 abstentions

#### 15) Adjournment - 7:15pm

<u>ACTION</u> – Fredi Giesler motioned to adjourn Bob Houghton seconded