

FACULTY SENATE 2021-2022

ISU Faculty Senate Agenda Monday, March 28, 2022 4:00-6:00 p.m. Location: Join Zoom Meeting https://isu.zoom.us/i/93311614308?pwd=0UFrbTBVWng5UUtMTDIl02Nu0II0dz09

Meeting ID: 933 1161 4308

Passcode: 114735

In Attendance:

Absent But Excused:

Absent:

Ex-Officio:

Recording Secretary: Ann Medinger

Open Forum:

1) Announcements

- a) All Senators should have Spring Elections underway
 - i) We have a Council Membership Term Staggering Worksheet in Box to aid Senators in the election process
 - ii) Election Timeline
 - (1) Monday April 11th, 2022- Deadline for final submission of names of the newly elected senators and sub-council members
 - (2) Monday, April 25th, 2022- New Senators will attend Final Faculty Senate Meeting of the 2021-2022 academic year
- 2) ASISU Update- Zane Webb (ASISU VP)
- 3) Student Affairs Update- Craig Chatriand
- 4) Academic Affairs Update- Karen Appleby
- 5) Policy News- Kellee Kirkpatrick/Libby Howe
- 6) President's Update- Kevin Satterlee
- 7) Guests
- 8) Consent Agenda
 - a) Faculty Senate Official Minutes March 14, 2022
 - b) Research Council Minutes March 11, 2022
 - c) FPPC Minutes March 2, 2022



FACULTY SENATE 2021-2022

9) Continuing Business

- a) Surveys to evaluate Deans, Directors, and Department Chairs
 - i) Follow up on why administration is unable to prevent retribution or the "fear of retribution"
 - ii) Discussion on Line-by-line process of this evaluation process- Karen Appleby and Rex Force (Force is tentatively scheduled for this discussion)
 - iii) Next steps in the evaluation process- Karen Appleby
- b) Follow up on idea of creating an office of Ombuds
 - i) Discussion on how this will work if Deans, Directors, and/or Chairs are unwilling to meet with the ombuds to discuss issues
- c) Check-ins regarding ongoing work
 - i) Program Health Survey (James Stoutenborough)
 - ii) Bylaws (Jerry Leffler)
 - iii) Non-TT rights survey and committee

10)New Business

a) Revisions to the faculty evaluation process- Focusing on actionable, specific, and addressable issues and constructive criticism

11) Executive Session

- a) 2022 Emeritus
 - i) COSE
 - (1) Dr. H. Turner Laquer
 - (2) Dr. Robert Fisher
 - (3) Dr. Roy Eugene (Gene) Stuffle
 - ii) DHS
 - (1) Dr. Kerry Casperson
 - (2) Dr. Paul Cady
 - (3) Joni Grey Loftin
 - (4) Dr. JoAnn Gurenlian
 - iii) COT
 - (1) Carol Grimes
 - iv) CAL
 - (1) Dr. Brian Attebery
 - (2) Dr. Jennifer Attebery

12)Adjournment